[First Glance] PUPA

Utsutsu

Finally, this bloody messed up goodness is out. I’ve been waiting for this anime for AGES. Wanna know why? I’ll tell you :3

That’s because I’m a freaking weirdo and I love dark/scary/cruel/fucked up stuff. I admit it, I’m a VERY big weirdo. But I have feelings too, you know. So it saddens me that there aren’t many dark animes  on the market, and even less good ones.Hell, that’s why I jumped into Diabolik Lovers last September, because it wasn’t all rainbows, which seem to dominate my watchlist lately. And I enjoyed it, though the reason wasn’t the sadism thing because it was not there. So, did I think Pupa would be good? Naaaaaah. I’m not that stupid. Though I hope it at least wouldn’t be terrible.

So, I can’t offer proper constructive criticism, because I wouldn’t call it a full-on anime. It’s 4-with-a-tail minutes long, the art looks like it was made by amateurs with a budget lower than should be acceptable, and the writing is just….. no, let me put it this way. It’s basically not there. Well, not that much happened during these 2 episodes and not much really could but still, Utsutsu’s reaction, for example, should have been slightly different – in my opinion. But I’ll leave that alone for now. Frankly speaking, I have no idea what to think of this anime. I like the concept, and I’ll admit it – the art only adds to it, rather than takes away. It looks so creepy, freaky, strange and dark, so much that not a lot of music is needed to set the mood – the graphics already did that. So on that aspect, I’m quite satisfied. While keeping in mind what I’m watching.

There’s one thing I would like to note, though. The opening song is so nice *^* As I said, I’m all for the freaky, messed up stuff. And that applies to music as well. Hell, I have a whole list of creepy Vocaloid songs that are absolutely amazing. So I would be VERY glad if they published a longer version of this song. Just listen to it and say it wasn’t catchy:

The song is actually good, and I’m dead serious about it – no unreasonable fangirling. It would be a shame if it was left like this.

So, all in all I would say GO WATCH IT to anyone like me. Anyone who’s feeling the lack of dark anime out there and would want to highlight other, lets say, happierongoings like Sekai Seifuku, Hamatora, Space dandy or Gin no saji with something darker. Hell, it’s only 5 minutes per episode, what is there to lose? Watch it! And lets see together, how bad will it get.

Please, share your thoughts with me!! ^_^